Remember my comment about how we didn’t think any pieces were falling off the van???  Well…I was wrong.  The lug nuts were loose and falling off the right front tire.  We heard a strange noise and had thought we would make it to Phoenix but no luck.  So as we were heading south on Thursday we had to pull over in Cottonwood AZ.  NO WORRIES…we are all fine. 

We were lucky …the tire didn’t come off… we were able to pull off safely…we had cell phone service… AAA was there in an hour…A good garage was 12 miles away…with a hotel in walking distance

We were back on the road the next day.  We made it to Phoenix and got to see the Heard Museum and Desert Botanical Gardens.  Jim left this morning and his flight should be leaving soon.

We are heading to Colorado with a quick stop to pick up my credit card and driver’s license where I left it  in Cape Verde (hotel near Cottonwood).  Don’t ask!!! 🙂 

Fingers crossed for smooth sailing the rest of the way!

10 thoughts on “Roadblock… by Diana 7/24/10

  1. Wow! What an awesome trip… it doesn’t seem possible that it was what, 20 years ago that we did that! Looking at your pictures (love the crazy chipmunk!) just brings it all back. You’ve inspired me. We are going to plan a trek for two years out. I’ll be contacting you for help. Next year we want to do DC..

    I have an idea.. Why don’t you guys write a book.. I bet it would sell! Take it easy and may the wind always be at your back.

    Cheers, Kim

  2. Wow, you are truly having a BIG adventure. I very happy to hear that all is well and you are safely back on the road. Molly, Dad and I are looking forward to your return.We are looking forward to hearing all about your travels when you get here. Be safe.
    Love Grammie

  3. Jim spent last night here in Wells. We all talked for hours about some of your adventures. What an amazing experience. He really liked Sedona and Phoenix….they sound awesome. After doing some laundry and having a Chinese lunch (which Pops brought home) he headed up to Brunswick. I don’t think he’s looking forward to returning to work.
    We’re glad you’re all on your way back East. Be safe and we look forward to seeing you all.

    luv you and miss you, Gramma and Pops

  4. Oh Diana! I saw your van on the tow truck and immediately thought OK, I am driving through to New Mexico tomorrow, if I push a little hader, I can make Arizona and rescue you guys. Glad I only have to drive 750 miles tomorrow.

  5. I am not going to say that I told you so, but my heart sank when I saw the van on the tow truck and feared the worst…..you know how I worry about things. At least you guys got off the road safely and had a relatively easy and inexpensive fix. I have loved watching and readingm about your trip of a lifetime here…….really awesome sights and information. Jim is an excellent writer by the way! There is apparently much to learn about this Jim fellow I barely know. Good luck on the return swing home.

    Much Love,

    The Howes

  6. Oh boy, close call. Glad it was fairly painless though. Looking forward to seeing you guys soon and seeing your pictures and hearing about your adventures in person.

    -Denise

  7. OK, so the tow truck picture was a ploy to get Jim to stay, right????????? Don’t you EVER let that happen again!!!!!!! I didn’t like that picture at all, but if it meant a night in a hotel, WELLLLLLLLLLLL, maybe it was worth it!
    Keep up the GREAT work and come home quickly and safely!!!!!!!!

    Love, LULU XOXOXOXOX

  8. Glad to read it all worked out with the van! Good thing for AAA! I have really loved reading all about your adventures and pics too! Glad everything seems to be going smooth.

    Deb

  9. I keep waiting for the Chevy Chase moments on your vacation-glad it all worked out. How did you like the botanical gardens in Phoenix-I’ve been there once and loved it. I agree with Steve-Jim is a great writer.

    Cathy

  10. Dear Marc-Aurele Family:
    I have been trully amazed, thrilled, excited and have had actual spine tingling moments while following your awesome life adventure as a family. Thank you so much for sharing your adventure with all of us. You took on a monumental task as a family and it looks like “Success” is now a word in your vocabulary.
    Congratulations to all of you. Erin and Alex – you are both amazing writers!! God Speed on your trip back home! Vicki

Leave a Reply

